Day 7,8,9,…,11 in the Skecthbook Challenge

There are men who fight one day and are good. Others fight for a year and are better. There are some that fight for many years, and are far better. But there are those who fight all their lives; those, are the indispensable ones. -Bertolt Brecht

MADNESS!!!!! Yes it has been very stressful these past few days, so much I ended up not working on the sketchbook for two full days D:

I came back to it today, and I have made progress. How much progress? Well, let’s see: I made an introduction page for the overall theme which is “The Last Word Spoken” (I changed my theme from “The Science of Story” to this one) and I have in mind an “about the artist” page for the last two pages of the sketchbook, so that killed 4 pages that I dont have to worry about anymore *sigh*. On the down side, I have 2 drawings I have finished sketching but Im not too pleased with, so I keep putting off adding color. *hangs head in shame*. Life is difficult!

Enough drama. Here is what I have done since day 6:

Intro page… its not the first two page, as the first two pages are a dedication and I posted that on the first day!

After making the intro page, -remember this drawing?- well I went back to it, and changed a few things… still NOT pleased with it. Any suggestions?

This is an add on from something I had in mind for this sketchbook in the first place, but since the theme changed it would not fit with the new theme… however, time is too precious to waste old ideas :p

The idea seemed so interesting and possible… now it seems MEH and when I think of all the detail on the hair… *sigh* I need a hammer!!! Got one?

What’s going on here? Well there is a broken birdcage, or seems like one… any suggestions as to what to do with it?

This one was one of those ideas you get right after you think you have all your ideas figured out… yep, this one was a saver, as I love it, and it was fun to sketch.

Wondering how it looks with color? :p

And this is it from me…  I have one more drawing from Maya, and I left it for the end as it is her last contribution to this mad challenge. Her sketchbook is already on the mail, making its way to NY Brookling… hooray for Maya!!!😀

Maya’s version of Jekyll and Hide. Artist: Maya Doan. Model: Maya Doan. lol.

I have only two more pages to think of what to do with… and about everything else to color, ink, finish, and GO! How many days are left? Ugh! Don’t even go there.

11 thoughts on “Day 7,8,9,…,11 in the Skecthbook Challenge

  1. The broken bird cage should show a beautiful surreal bird escaping from it, its feathers swirling towards the cage or something ike that. The 3 women are beautiful, remind me of the 3 Weird Sisters Dracula had. If you cannot bear the idea of colouring things, leave the black and white, they are beautiful that way too. The man holding his eye, reminds me of a vintage photo of a very young Peter Murphy, where he is doing something similar, how peculiar! All in all, I think they are all gorgeous and whilst I understand you, as an aritst may not be 100 percent happy, I think they’re beautiful, so I hope you persevere and get to send your sketchbook like Maya did. Lovely final drawing for her as well!

    • Haha mi amiga, I love you response because, ONE: now I have something in mind of what to do with the broken birdcage LOL, and TWO: its not 3 women but two and in the middle a poor soul they have killed and now transporting to their particular cave to eat him… they are mermaids. I guess its not that understandable, which is why Im not pleased with it much LOL… but your comparison was perfect, I love it.

      Thank you for all the awesome support. I will send it, even if I have to finish the last drawing Monday.🙂

      • Ah, looking forward to the cage drawing, and it doesn’t matter if I didn’t realise they were mermaids with a victim, it’s a stunning drawing just the same🙂
        Good luck, I know you can do this!

  2. I adore the one with the snails! It’s so detailed and I love the colors in it.🙂 Also it has lots of uzumaki in it! That movie has forever changed the way I view the world. LOL

  3. hey , ur handwriting is Quite familiar , i cant recall with whom it matches , Drawings in color r more prone to get recognized nt sure bout b/w sketches, they need brush ups.

    • Hi mark, thanks for stopping by. I agree about the color drawings being prone to more recognition. People in general love color, and its far more difficult to show how great color can be. So, when you see something really good in color, you immateriality give it more value.
      But I think graphite can be quite intimidating.🙂

    • I did send it. I have been dealing with some personal problems, and havent done the lost post for this challenge. But I did send it… thank you so much mi amiga, for all the support!!😀 and I will be posting the last sketches I did soon!

  4. Oh dear, I so wish I could say something deep and clever, but I am mesmerized by all the sketches and drawings I see here and the previsou pages. They are amazing!
    Congratulations to Maya for finishing her beautiful sketchbook. Her work is great too, somehow more polished than yours.
    But your hair filled drawings have, to me at least, a much more evocative power. They make me think of the Russian 19th century literature, of Egon Shiele, Saramago and the oniric quality of Max Ernst. I love your incredible characters suspended between earth and sky… somehow they all look like self-portraits.😉

    My favourite? Like Sleepy, I adore the snails woman. Her antennaes are a great touch.😀

    • They are self-portraits and some times I hate it, but when I look for references in poses I have no model to pose after me ha, ha, ha.

      Funny you say it reminds you of the Russian literature, because when I was a little girl I had 4 or 5 books, each one was a different color, and all had Russian folklore tales: The Frog Princess, one had the whale with the city on top; another one was about an old man with the longest hair and so on… I was heavily influenced by those books and also by Japanese horror stories.

      Thank you for the comment dear friend. You always have beautiful words.🙂

Leave a Reply

