Fake Parade

I decided to take vacation the worst time of the year. I say this because after my days off,  thurs and fr the biggest news that had the world in horror was Japan’s earthquake followed by Tsunami, and now the explosion at the Fukushima nuclear power plant. I was very upset, and I’m sure my feelings don’t amount to the feelings of those affected and families and relatives of those affected, also friends, friends of friends, friends of friends of friends… what I’m trying to say is that I am no one compared to some one who is Japanese and not even from the area affected to say the least. Everyone is affected, everyone is saddened by this, because is a matter of decency having regards for human lives. So it got me thinking that we are not all lost when it comes to morals and ethics, we are not all lost when it comes to having a little bit of perspective. Then, I also thought about myself and where I stand when it comes to all of these things, do I still have all of these or am I full of crap? Why am I the person to always point out things to others? Is not very ethical to pick and point when you are not so perfect yourself, I don’t want to do that anymore but it seems to take over me.

Reading blogs about what happened, I found many comments, some amusing, some sensible, and some very out of touch, like for example some girl had said how the tsunami could not have had a worst timing because it hit while people where at work and so on… when is it EVER a good timing for a tsunami? while they are at church? that way we save time? Yeah, you will always find those type of comments. And you have to read that and laugh, and just think she is probably very young and just not thinking right because I was there once, and I probably did something along those lines (I hope not) There was also another thing that caught my attention; why there was no looting in Japan while there was looting in New Orleans and other cities that at some point in time were affected by disasters or war. My boyfriend had a very simple answer to that one; he said the tsunami washed everything away so there was nothing to loot. But lots of people were agreeing that Japan is an incredible nation that stays together in solidarity under this circumstances like no other. One word; tradition.

“There is a lot more to the soup than just salt” (my own saying, you like?) But, it is my understanding of this matter in particular, which has escalated to a bigger problem in my life recently, with a particular somebody, whom I dearly love, that tradition has been lost in our side of the world and that we have been constantly losing sight of what is really important in our lives. I felt like our world was turning into A BIG FAKE PARADE. Things as simple as paying a little bit of courtesy for someone have gone out of the window, and when I look at my life and where I come from I have to admit there is no freaking tradition to follow, there is no songs, no sayings from grandma, no… no nothing. An entire generation of nothing. Luckily I had lots of good teaching from great people that are now dead, like my grandmother Melba whom I never got to meet again… I miss her so much. Basically, I want to understand what are we turning this world into? Facebook? what is it for? Displaying your life from 8am till midnight, or finding friends and playing games? Maybe both, or maybe you just want to play philosopher and post quotes all day. WAIT! I play freaking CityVille all day, I admit it, but I don’t post my life on facebook I’m not a celebrity and don’t plan to be one. Fake Pared? I think yes!

I have come to rant about many things from tsunamis, to facebook, to traditions that are now lost forever… and how full of crap I must be. But driving from my mother’s today I saw something truly amazing, and then I realized I was wrong about one thing. Watching the perfect sunset confirmed something very hard to admit, what was turning into a fake parade was not the world, but us… I drove frantically through the back streets that separate my mothers house from mine, parked halfway in my parking lot -my boyfriend sure would love that- climbed  my horrid stairs, from which I’m sure I will fall sooner or later one of these days; out of all the days in the world to deliver a package -and to do it the right way- the post office decides today is the day, I got the package inside and ran past a bunch of hungry cats -trust me is not a pretty sight- to the back door that leads out to the terrace, where I can take a picture… it was gone, the sun was gone!

13 thoughts on “Fake Parade

  1. How many hungry cats? meow

    Seriously, yes, there are no traditions nowadays, people are losing touch. Ironic that I’ve made more friends virtually though. People do not teach their children manners any more either. They have no respect for other’s properties, no respect for their elders and I could go on and on, so I don’t blame you for feeling frustrated.

    The sun will shine again tomorrow, at least over there. Over here, you never know when it will make an appearance through the clouds🙂

    • And since you love your dark clouds and sinister myst I’m sure it does not worry you much🙂
      I have four cats, I’m a cat lover I have had cats since I was born, its like a tradition from my mother to me… wait! did I just say tradition? hahaha Can’t have vampires so I am pretty much content with my misus.😉

      You said it right! People have no manners!!!!! But today is a new day and I wish for my vacation to end on a happy note… for the sake of my sanity!
      Thanks for the comment my friend!🙂

  2. I’m not a religious person Laura, but wise words can be found in many places. So:
    “To everything there is a season,
    a time for every purpose under the sun.
    A time to be born and a time to die;
    a time to plant and a time to pluck up that which …is planted;
    a time to kill and a time to heal …
    a time to weep and a time to laugh;
    a time to mourn and a time to dance …
    a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing;
    a time to lose and a time to seek;
    a time to rend and a time to sew;
    a time to keep silent and a time to speak;
    a time to love and a time to hate;
    a time for war and a time for peace.”
    Ecclesiastes 3:1-8

    “And while I’m being philosophic ;-):It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it wa…s the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us, we were all going direct to Heaven, we were all going direct the other way—in short, the period was so far like the present period, that some of its noisiest authorities insisted on its being received, for good or for evil, in the superlative degree of comparison only.”
    Tale of Two Cities, Charles Dickens

    • I have heard of Charles Dickens (who hasn’t?) but I have never read any of his books. I can’t say I will go and read all of his books now… it would probably sound childish, but must definitely have to check out this author, for I know most of his characters without knowing his stories and that is a shame. I feel foolish now…
      Thank you for leaving a comment, after all, we know all the particularities involved behind this… hahaha

      • I love Dickens! He will drag you through the worst, most depressing pages you’ve ever read and then offer you a ray of hope at the end. “A Christmas Carol” is a must see, and read, every holiday season around here. But “A Tale of Two Cities” has always been a personal favorite of mine. I really enjoyed reading your blog Laura. And I am sure I will also really enjoy reading your journey as you evaluate traditions, and their meaning;when they support and when they inhibit. How we define what is important to us, and what is worthy of our time, attention and skills.

  3. Jadeeyes, you know what? You and I don’t have to stop having integrity. You and I can be respectful to people of all creeds, colours and culture. You and I can have good manners.

    I promise it is noticed and even contagious.

    • I want to believe it is contagious, and you know what? Thinking about it, yes you are right, it is because bad manners are also contagious and I have been there… and at the same time I have hated that side of me.

      Thanks for the comment!

  4. Sine cera = without wax = sincere

    Words, how can we not love them.

    We gave birth to them, they have grown with us, become such a part of us. Life, the world, is inconceivable without words.

    Without wax – sine cera, sincere – also pertains to honesty and trust. Letters and deeds of trust were more often sealed with wax to be broken only by the recipient. The contents of the document were secret and the implication was that the carriers could not be trusted. A document without wax did not imply not caring or that the contents was not for public knowledge, just that those entrusted with safe delivery of the missive were sincere, trustworthy and honest.

    Perhaps some of us have lost faith because sincerity, trustworthiness and honesty are all dying or being cheapened – advertising, propaganda, politicians, religious indoctrination etc. etc. We are immersed in a world where everything is seen as disposable – things, species, countries, races, cultures – just so long as whatever agenda is in play is not compromised. A world where it’s ok for the rich to cynically make themselves richer at the expense of normal everyday people who just want to live quiet lives with enough to eat, enough to clothe ourselves and just enough respect to make us feel secure wherever we choose to live on this planet.

    • Very interesting perspective on how we are losing integrity.
      Also perhaps one of the “many other” interpretations to the word sincere as I mentioned in the post Without Wax, which I did not know about, and I thank you for sharing it here… I’m constantly in need of knowledge. Like I can’t live if I don’t feed myself with the right dosage every day… I’m just being a little melodramatic, it happens after I learn something.

      Thank you for the comment!Loved it🙂

Leave a Reply

