Bebopperal Inspiration

Today I’m sick. I have the flu and as always it is a surprise since I don’t get sick very often, not even every year. I’m in bed, resting, or something like it. God! its boring for someone like me who likes to be up doing anything -although I must confess right now, that which I call “anything” has never to do with hard work; yep I’m lazy. I was trying to find a good anime to watch since I have been out of anime to watch, I have probably seen all of them (the ones that came out this year that is). Instead of finding a good anime, I ended up watching clips of Cowboy Bebop on youtube. (SIGH) Man this anime is incredible! I found myself lost in all that bebopperal (this word I made up a long time ago. Its meaning I can’t quite describe since it has to do with my feelings for Bebop. Its like a proxy between us two)

I want to share some clips of my number 1 anime of all times. I’m pretty sure it is number 1 for more than a few people out there. Enjoy;

(bell peppers and beef… NOT)

(the last few ending scenes… I hate Julia)

Someone had commented that in the end nobody got closure; that they all ended miserable. False and true. Everybody got closure, it was just too miserable a reality.

I think the end of Cowboy Bebop is as real as you are going to get it on an action anime, where the hero never dies because its not a drama but an action anime. In this particular anime, Spike had to die to end all that bitterness that was so overpowering. I mean, Spike was piratically living to find closure to his sad past. He did not want to care about anything else. Although he did came to care for others, I think he could not ignore his past as it was always coming back to him. It had been his only purpose for a long time and just because the crew happened to tag along he wasn’t going to let go of his main goal, to end everything between him and Vicious. You see, Spike is not a hero, he is what is called anti-hero. Spike was a bitter man, and believed he deserved nothing else but to carry the burden of his past. At the end, he told Faye he was not going there to die, but to live. That answers the question why he had to die. He needed to die as the Spike he was, a bitter lonely man. As he was, he was no good for the crew; that was his belief, and the reason why he is such an amazing character. Hes got flaws. That is the way he is, that is what made him so mysterious and appealing, and that is real. That is one reason why we like Cowboy Bebop so much.

Oh! How I miss the crew. Here is a drawing a did of Spike a long time ago. I wanted to draw him more realistic looking, and it came out something like this:

And here is a new drawing of him I just did right now on my skecth-book, which is why the hair is cut, hehe.;

Well, now I’m left with all the Bebopperal inspiration. I will use it to draw more of that character I have been working on, I will post once I’m done with it.

20 thoughts on “Bebopperal Inspiration

  1. Poor you, hope you feel better soon. Hate being sick, it’s that time of the year when the flu is going around.

    Never really watched anime, though I can see the attraction.

    Your drawings of Spike are very good.

    Still trying to figure out how to explain what my boy looks like, wish I could take a mental photo of the image inside my head lol.

    Anyway, feel better soon!
    Alannah (aka Agatha82)

      • That’s true, emotion is the hardest thing to read, literally. But in all honesty, I was being serious with what I said.

        I like our little chat-room sessions, they feel human. Like we’re face to face, you know?. Plus you are very intelligent and well-read, so I take great pleasure in learning new things from you.

      • Thanks for that. You are very kind. I don’t know why the original comment does not show on the post? Hmm… weird. Anyway can’t wait to post what I have been doing lately, wait for it!🙂

  2. Long time no talk. Ah, that Spike piece is a classic, still love it. The new one is awesome, per usual the shading and pose is epic. Keep up the great work!

    Ironically, I just finished rewatching the series and saw the movie yesterday. Still can’t get enough of it, freaking adore that show.

      • Yes I’m fine, a little busy is all. Haven’t been on dA in so long so I didn’t see your comment, thank you very much. 19 feels pretty old to me at the moment🙂

      • 19 wasn’t a memorable age for me. But I do remember I was in love with a boy at the time and sort of missed dating others just because of that. Too young to understand things!
        I do understand you when you say 19 feels old to you at the moment. I think you’ll be feeling like that about every other year… soon I’ll be 29, as soon as in two months. There was a time when I thought 29 was pretty old… Oh! yeah that time was when I was 19, haha.🙂

      • Happy Birthday in advance🙂

        19 feels funny to me, because I don’t feel much different from 18. Like at all. Aside from now having my parents push some independence down my throat🙂

        A few of my more vocal friends have already started making joked and quips about how Im not 19—as in I sound much older to them or something like that which I have to deal with for who knows how long🙂 I agree I’m going to get these feelings probably till I die. To me 29 isn’t old, unless you are talking exclusively in sports terms.

      • You are right, 29 is not old. But nevertheless is the age in which you start thinking about what you have done for your life or what you haven’t. At least for me, the past two years 27-28 and now turning 29 has been about looking back and thinking what I have done for my life. But really thinking if you know what I mean. Its not like I’m 20 anymore and can just pretty much wait around, you know? Is that feeling exactly.
        You do sound much more mature than what I was when I was your age.🙂

      • I’ll take that as a compliment🙂

        I understand what you mean about thinking back on what you have accomplished. I suppose that sort of introspection is reserved solely for when you’ve spent more than a year out of your mother’s house🙂 How do you feel about what you’ve done so far? I hope I can look back in a few years and be happy with what I have accomplished.

      • I feel like I waisted a lot of my time. When I see the things I am able to do now, like with my art, I think I could have been doing this a long time ago and now… But at the same time, the person I am today is thanks to all the experiences I have lived. I finally understand why people say you can’t have regrest. Is not about being selfish and not recognizing your mistakes, is about acepting the person you are at present. If I were lost in constant regret everyday I would grow to hate myself and eventually become a bitter person. I don’t want to do that. I can’t see myself as that person you know? So, regrets I have none -only when I look at it that way. Hahaha. Its hard not to regret at least one thing or tow😉

      • It wasn’t cheesy at all. Did I come off as sarcastic? I didn’t want to. I was being very serious, I couldn’t have put it better myself.

      • Reading emotions is hard to do. But I don’t get offended that easy. At my job people tend to offend you, so I have learned the hard way. I didn’t take it as sarcasm, but like you were being funny or something. Either way I laughed. I don’t think you would say something mean, so that was not my thought. Haha.🙂

        That aside, we tend to make of every post our own chat-room. We used to do that in deviant too, so funny… even my friend Agatha here, with her I do it too sometimes. Its crazy!

  3. Pingback: cowboy bebop « Эхо блогосферы

Leave a Reply

