“3AM”

Today is Monday, yet it feels like a Friday. Work was light (lighter than usual) and I don’t feel stress coming back home, there is no rush to do anything since I don’t have to wake up early on Tuesdays anymore. Oh! Wait, math class is OVER! Yep, I am free again.

Matchbox Twenty was one of my favorite bands in the 90’s. Now I look back to those times, when I was in my teens and thought life would not get better than that, how wrong I was. But, never mind that, the point is I feel so accomplished today, I have to jump and twirl and scream. Coming home from work, they played one of my favorite songs from Matchbox Twenty, one of those songs you love but don’t remember the name -shame, I know. But the Rob bug has already infested my body and heart tonight, so I must share any song by them.

Looking for a little information on the song I chose to share and the band, I found out something I never knew (and I liked the band back then… shame on me!) The band formed here in Orlando, Florida in 1995. This is an awesome bit of info for me, since I reside in Florida as well. Not that it would have change anything! Just being my dorky self.

I choose one that I loved and listened to almost everyday back in the 90’s; “3AM”. Although my favorite of the band is “Smooth”, but “3AM” brings back memories long forgotten.

Lyrics:

She say it’s cold outside and she hands me my raincoat
She’s always worried about things like that
She says it’s all gonna end and it might as well be my fault
And she only sleeps when it’s raining
And she screams and her voice is straining

[chorus]

She says baby
It’s 3 am I must be lonely
When she says baby
Well I can’t help but be scared of it all sometimes
Says the rain’s gonna wash away I believe it

She’s got a little bit of something, God it’s better than nothing
And in her color portrait world she believes that she’s got it all
She swears the moon don’t hang quite as high as it used to
And she only sleeps when it’s raining
And she screams and her voice is straining

[chorus]

She believes that life is made up of all that you’re used to
And the clock on the wall has been stuck at three for days, and days
She thinks that happiness is a mat that sits on her doorway
But outside it’s stopped raining

[chorus]

3 thoughts on ““3AM”

  1. Not familiar with the band, though I’ve heard of them of course but you know, it’s a great thing when music brings back memories, even if they’re sad or you look back on your life and see how you have made progress after all. It’s all good. Music is like a time machine 🙂

Leave a Reply

