It’s a Matter of Time

This song, “Cuando Me Enamoro”, by Enrrique Iglesias featuring Juan Luis Guerra, is one of my favorites right now. I look forward to listen to it on the radio on my way to work, and when I drive back. I don’t have any thoughts on the song other than Im glad there are still songs like this one coming out. I mean, there is the new genre reggaeton, which seems to be taking over as fast as a plague. I don’t have anything against reggaeton as I my self have danced to it many times before. But that, is about the limit of what it can do -in my opinion. I cannot get any inspiration from it, nor can I get that pleasant feeling -which I still don’t have a name for- I always get when listening to anything else except for reggaeton or heavy metal, or metal alternative… or anything else sang by Marilyn Manson.

“Cuando Me Enamoro” was written by Enrique. Wow! I would have never thought. Enrique surprises me with this; I thought the song was written by Juan Luis Guerra who is one of the greatest composer in Latin America right now. The man has sold over 20 million records, and has won two Grammys, nine Latin Grammys and received other music awards. One of his most critical acclaimed songs is “Ojala Que Llueva Café” which he wrote; this song, while not my favorite from the artist, is one of the many songs by him that brings me back to my childhood. Many Saturdays I got out of my house in the morning ready to play with my friends and Juan Luis would be playing in some house in the neighborhood. (Sigh) Memories are such an important part of our lives.

What I love about this artist the most is that he does not use one style of music, but he incorporates many diverse rhythms into his music and makes it happen. Is like he gives it his own magic touch, and it works wonders. One example of this is in the song, “La Llave De Mi Corazon” which features Taboo from Black Eyed Peas.

Now, Enrique in the other hand is a singer who despite all his great accomplishments in the music entertainment, I could never get the thought that he comes from a very convenient background out of my mind. His father is the famous singer Julio Iglesias; that says it all. However, after hearing this song and that he is the composer, I was in shock. Not that I never liked him before, I did, very much in fact -only at the beginning since I was a teenager and would only see beauty before talent at that age- but never did I appreciated his talent as much as I’m ready to do it now. It was all a matter of time.

On my search, I found a comment by Enrique that corroborates everything I have said about Juan Luis and the song; Enrique said:

“I have always said that Mr. Juan Luis Guerra is, by far, one of the best contemporary composers in the world. I always had the desire to do something important with him and I think everything comes at the perfect time. I’m flattered that Mr. Juan Luis Guerra liked my song and I’m sure the fans will receive it with great love.”

We love it Enrique, keep them coming! Great song, truly. Great song!

Here I have the song and lyrics in a video found on youtube.

But just in case, the video one day stops -it happens all the time- I also have the lyrics here, enjoy:

Si pudiera bajarte una estrella del cielo
lo haria sin pensarlo dos veces
porque te quiero, ay
y hasta un lucero

Y si tuviera el naufragio de un sentimiento
seria un velero en la isla
de tus deseos, de tus deseos

Pero por dentro entiendo que no puedo
y a veces me pierdo…

Cuando me enamoro
a veces desespero,
cuando me enamoro,
cuando menos me lo espero, me enamoro
se detiene el tiempo,
me viene el alma al cuerpo,
sonrio, cuando me enamoro

(Ohh, oh, ooh, oooh)

Si la luna seria tu premio,
yo juraria hacer cualquier cosa,
por ser su dueño, ay, por ser tu dueño

Y si en tus sueños escuchas el llanto
de mis lamentos,
en tus sueños no sigas dormida,
que es verdadero, ay,
no es un sueño, no

Y me alegro que a veces al final
no encuentres un momento, ooh no…

Cuando me enamoro
a veces desespero,
cuando me enamoro,
cuando menos me lo espero, me enamoro
se detiene el tiempo,
me viene el alma al cuerpo,
sonrio, cuando me enamoro

Cuando me enamoro
a veces desespero,
cuando me enamoro,
cuando menos me lo espero, me enamoro
se detiene el tiempo,
me viene el alma al cuerpo, al cuerpo,
sonrio, sonrio, cuando me enamoro.

(Ohh, oh, ooh, oooh)

I got the lyrics from; http://www.lyricsmania.com/cuando_me_enamoro_lyrics_enrique_iglesias.html

5 thoughts on “It’s a Matter of Time

  1. Wow, what a beautiful song. I’ve never really been a fan of Mr. Iglesias—not that I hated him, just in the sense that I rarely listened to him. But this song is amazing. And I’ve always known Juan Luis Guerra was the best.

    This and “Bachata en Fukuoka” have just entered in the list of songs that put a huge smile on my face when I play them in the morning. Thanks for sharing!

    • Funny you mentioned “Bachata en Fukuoka” because while writing this post I was thinking that now I cannot give “Bachata en Fukuoka” as much info as I have given this song since bachata is also by Juan Luis, so… I kinda decided not to post “Bachata en Fukuoka” then. But is my favorite too!!!!

      • I love that song. I can close my eyes and just imagine myself on the shore of a beach just staring off into the sunset.

Leave a Reply

