Driven By The Moment

If you have taken a few literature classes and, have read some textbooks on the subject, then you will agree with me when I say writing is the hardest thing. Heck! you don’t have to even take classes to know writing requires a lot of practice, perhaps (even though some have become best-seller writers over night) it might take you years to write a book, and even longer to write a best-seller… maybe never. My father once told me I shouldn’t worry about the time; some -he said- write a book in two days, others in years. What you need to do, is practice.

You have a picture in your mind of what you want to say, but when you are about to express it on paper, it comes out very different and not so right anymore. The same thing happens with drawing. However, I can say with absolute confidence that my drawing skills are not as bad as my writing –which may very well be the reason why I want to write more than I want to draw. Now, don’t despair, there are plenty of exercises to bring out your inner thoughts and express them exactly the way you want it. One of them, is to jolt down every little thing that pops into your brain. Good! Sounds like fun. But, what if your best ideas come to light while you are driving? Or working? Doing anything that prevents you from writing them down. Then what? That’s what my voice recorder is for, here is what I got so far:

This weekend has been pretty much an 80s flashback. Well, not really a flashback since I did not party in the 80s –I was too busy being a child for that. I would say –for me– more like a run-down. I love the 80s music, and movies. Are you kidding? Sixteen Candles; Ferris Bueller’s Day Off; Fame. For today, “99 Red Balloons” by Nena was the song I had prepared. I listened to it on my way to work, and felt like it was the highlight of my day. However, that all has changed. Did I say voice recorder? Forget that. Nothing beats your muse.

Right now, at this very moment I feel nostalgic about something. I don’t quite know what it is, but I can feel my heart searching for that “something.” Its just a feeling, but very strong and, “99 Red Balloons” -amazing song- can not quite describe it, but “Answer” from Sarah McLachlan can.

And so, I have decided to give up on my voice recorder for the moment. I can still sit and listen to a song and feel, and that feeling –when its strong– is what pushes me to write and express myself. While I may not be clear about what I want to say, I know something is there.

Is this the difference between amateur and professional? I believe so. Most certainly, the reason why I’m not finished with my book, and without a doubt, the reason why I call myself an aspiring writer.

“Answer”. I heard it first in the movie The Brave One. I fell in love with it right away. It serves as inspiration for when I write, draw, or just feel like thinking.

Lyrics

I will be the answer
At the end of the line
I will be there for you
While you take the time
In the burning of uncertainty
I will be your solid ground
I will hold the balance
If you can’t look down

If it takes my whole life
I won’t break, I won’t bend
It will all be worth it
Worth it in the end
Cause I can only tell you what I know
That I need you in my life
When the stars have all gone out
You’ll still be burning so bright

Cast me gently
Into morning
For the night has been unkind
Take me to a
Place so holy
That I can wash this from my mind
The memory of choosing not to fight

If it takes my whole life
I won’t break, I won’t bend
It will all be worth it
Worth it in the end
‘Cause I can only tell you what I know
That I need you in my life
When the stars have all burned out
You’ll still be burning so bright

Cast me gently
Into morning
For the night has been unkind

I’ll go back to my voice recorder now. The moment has passed.

Other posts about writing:

The Epic Battle Begins…Soon

My First Draft

4 thoughts on “Driven By The Moment

  1. Wow, what an amazing song. She sings beautifully. I think certain songs or types of songs that just naturally evoke nostalgia or inspiration, at least I’ve proven that to be my case.

    I agree about the difficulty of writing. It’s funny, I did exactly that—put off drawing to start writing—and it’s really difficult to pen your thoughts. Coming from a family of writers, I can honestly say I’ve been gifted nothing of their talents haha, but it’s nevertheless a fascinating process when you put a pen to paper (or finger to keyboard in my case).

    • You’re writing? Welcome to the world of chaos my friend. I can understand how you feel, my dad is a writer (good one) my older brother plays guitar, my sister the violin and she is also an orchestra director, and my other brother plays the trumpet. He played with Sandobal once, that’s how good he is. Me… hehehe… Ill tell you when I get publish, IF, BIG IF, I get publish.

      • Thanks for the welcome. I understand. The only things I have going for me are drawing and my piano. Hopefully I can add writing to that, under tutelage of my older brother who was born with a pen and pad.

        Wow, you have an incredible family. You guys cover the spectrum. I think you’re well on your way to that list you made, I think you have an immense talent for art and I have tons of respect for the work I’ve seen from you. And believe me, I’ll be the first person to buy your book when it hits the shelves.

Leave a Reply

