Kiri

For me to have a one favorite song is a big deal, since I’m sort of addicted to music. I can’t go one day without listening to some music, whether country, classical, rock, salsa, opera, pop… anything goes. I have many favorites that I just listen over and over again, but none give me the feeling that I get when listening to Kiri from Monoral.

The song Kiri is the opening theme for Ergo Proxy, a  suspense, science-fiction anime. Kiri means mist. Although I have not been able to find information behind the story of the name Kiri, I have found -and I completely agree- many claim Kiri to be one of the best opening for an anime ever. I hate to say this, but the anime is not as famous as the song. That says a lot. However, I do love the anime and have watched it more than once.

The rock band behind Kiri is Monoral. Its composed of two half Japanese-musicians; Anis Shimada, the singer and second guitarist, who is half-Moroccan, and fluent in both Arabic and Japanese languages, including French and, English. And Ali Morizumi, a half-American, who plays the guitars and bass. Monoral has release two mini-albums, In Stereo and, Ammonite; in 2005 they released their first major album, Petrol, and now they have a second album, Turbulence. The band was not recognized by the public completely, until they released Kiri in 2006 for the anime.

I can not express in writing what it is about Kiri that’s so especial to me. I don’t know if its because I have seen the anime and can feel a whole story behind the song, or if its just the song. I do know that as many times as I listen and compare it to other of my favorites, I always come to the same decision; Kiri is my number one song.

Lyrics:

You complete my fate
The world unwinds inside of me
You complete my fate
The halo crawls away
You repeat my fate
Rewinding all we can
You refill my place
You refill my place
Come and save me
Come and save me

You complete my fate
The heavens stroll inside of me
You repeat my fate
Revealing who we are
You refill my place
You refill my place
Come and save me

Believe in me
Drink the wine
Take my hand
Fill me up
Believe in me
Drink the wine
Take my hand
Let me follow

I got the lyrics from; http://www.animelyrics.com/anime/ergoproxy/kiri.htm

7 thoughts on “Kiri

  1. Here is my little grain of salt: “Kiri” means “Tree Bark” it comes from the langauge of the “Maori” the indigenous Polynesian people of New Zealand.

      • I would have to agree with you guys because this makes a lot more sense than mist. However I did find that the meaning is mist so my guess is that like with other words in Japanese Kiri might have two different meanings. Thanks for the input.

Leave a Reply

