Dana International: A legend with a Twist!

A “Super Star” in her own right, this talented singer from Israel has captivated the world with her authenticity, her uniqueness and undeniable sexy creativeness.  I first discovered Dana back in 98′ when she won the Eurovision Contest with a song called “Diva” (a must-have, may I say so) and since that day she only grew stronger both in my heart and in my Ipod’s Playlist.  Now let’s bring it up a notch – Dana was born a man “Yaron Cohen” and later had sex-change operation to become a full woman at the age of 18. Now that I got that big fish out-of-the-way I have to tell you she is one of the most successful and famous transgenders in the world and although various conservative groups like the orthodox Jews, members of the catholic church , etc. have been completely opposed to her music and have launched several attacks against her career, she has managed to survive and become  one of the biggest celebrities in the Middle East, Europe and Asia.  Originally discovered by famous DJ Offer Nissim, she has also worked with many other famous celebrities around the world like Idan Yaniv, Ne Angely, Famous Israeli rapper “Subliminal” Etc. Off course she is huge in the gay community all over the world and strongly supports gay rights, most of all she is an example of how a person can change the world despite growing up in an extremely conservative country like Israel. She inspires hope in all of us!

This is her latest video with Subliminal – is called “Alay” which means “Look at me”

Here are both Lyrics in Hebrew and In English

Hebrew

Ani koreh la vehi lo megivah
Ani la ba lehene lechapes ahavah
Sorek et hashetach mi omed mitzdadaii
Vepitom hi omeret tistakel rak alaii

Alaii – Alaii
Lehistakel, lehistakel alaii
Alaii – alaii
Lehistakel, lehistakel alii
Alaii – Alaii
Lehistakel, lehistakel alaii
Alaii – alaii

Why, walli alaii o tirdi mimeni o sheta’ali alii
Im me’achoraii milifnei o mitzdadaii
Mabatim alaii hopa tinanaii
Walla mi lochemet, zoremet, chosemet mi she’zomemet
Lo merachemet, mitkademet, kol milah mekayemet al emet…

Levi’ah chosefet, shinayim no’etzet
Ba’orek harashi hatkafah mitparetzet
Mi yachol alaya, mi? Ad mataii
Ani estakel alaya vehi tistakel alaii…

Alaii – Alaii
Lehistakel, lehistakel alaii
Alaii – alaii
Lehistakel, lehistakel alaii
Alaii – Alaii
Lehistakel, lehistakel alaii
Alaii – alaii

Ani koreh la vehi lo megivah
Ani lo ba lehene lechapes ahavah
Sorek et hashetach mi omed mitzdadaii
Vepitom hi omeret tistakel rak alaii

Alaii – Alaii
Lehistakel, lehistakel alaii
Alaii – alaii
Lehistakel, lehistakel alaii
Alaii – Alaii
Lehistakel, lehistakel alaii
Alaii – alaii

Levi’ah chosefet, shinayim no’etzet
Ba’orek harashi hatkafah mitparetzet
Mi yachol alaya, mi? Ad mataii
Ani estakel alaya vehi tistakel alaii…

Alaii – Alaii
Lehistakel, lehistakel alaii
Alaii – alaii
Lehistakel, lehistakel alaii
Alaii – alaii,
Lehistakel, lehistakel alaii
Alaii – alaii

Translation into English

Im calling her and she doesn’t respond
I didn’t came here to search for love
Looking around, checking who’s by my sides
Now she says just look at me

At me, at me
Look at me, look at me
At me, at me
Look at me, look at me

Wow, “Wally, All’ay” Get off my back or get on me
If all around me, Throwing looks at me “Hopa Tinanay”
“Walla” Who’s a fighter, who’s a flewer, blocking anyone who’s planning
Not forgiving, moving forward, fullfiling her promises

A lioness showing her teeth, embedding her teeth
at the main Vein – there’s a blowing attack
Who can go on her, who ? till then
I’ll look at her and she will at me

At me, at me
Look at me, look at me
At me, at me
Look at me, look at me

Im calling her and she doesn’t respond
I didn’t came here to search for love
Looking around, checking who’s by my sides
Now she says just look at me

At me, at me
Look at me, look at me
At me, at me
Look at me, look at me

A lioness showing her teeth, embedding her teeth
at the main Vein – there’s a blowing attack
Who can go on her, who ? till then
I’ll look at her and she will at me

Share this Post
Add to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to Twitter

4 thoughts on “Dana International: A legend with a Twist!

Leave a Reply

