My Blue Unicorn

Tonight I’m missing a special someone very much, so naturally it was time to listen to some good sad songs; My Blue Unicorn fit perfectly.

My Blue Unicorn Is a song composed and performed by Silvio Rodriguez. He is known to be the best folk Cuban singer, although I can tell you he is not the only best; there is also Pablo Milanes; but aside from that Silvio is a poet, a singer, and an artist, in one word, a troubadour. Some of his songs praise the Revolution, which is reason why he is not well like among the Cuban-American society; however, some of his followers (some Cuban-Americans still like him. I’m one of them) claim that his songs can be interpreted with a different meaning. To me, Silvio is just a singer, a poet, an artist. I love most of his songs, and get lost in the rich lyrics. I don’t think about his political views or whether he is left wing or not. If we are to get deep into what Silvio Rodriguez is and how he started we might find a few surprising truths, but since I do not talk about politics or religion -yeah I like to keep it simple- here is one of Silvio’s most amazing songs, and one that I particularly love; My Blue Unicorn.

Lyrics are in English for those who do not speak Spanish. Note please, I did not get the lyrics from anybody else but from the original American copy of his disc “Cuba Classics, Vol. 1: Canciones Urgentes”  This translation is not like the one circulating the web, that read verbatim, word by word, and is just horrible, and does not do the song any justice. No, this lyrics are written by a professional translator, and read like a poem -like the song in Spanish- without having to take away the true meaning of what Silvio expressed with his own lyrics.

My Blue Unicorn

Yesterday, I lost my blue unicorn.
I left him gazing in the fields and he disappeared.
I will pay handsomely for any lead.
The flowers he left behind will not tell me a thing.
Yesterday, I lost my blue unicorn.
I do not know if he ran away.
I do not know if went astray.
And I have but one blue unicorn.
If anyone knows where he is, I beg you tell me.
I’ll pay a hundred thousand, a million.
For I lost my blue unicorn yesterday.
Now he is gone.

My unicorn and I became friends.
Partly through love, partly through honesty.
with his indigo horn he would catch a song.
Knowing how to share it was his greatest joy.
Yesterday, I lost my blue unicorn.
It may seem like an obsession.
Yet I have but one blue unicorn.
And even if I had two, he is the one I love.
For yesterday, I lost my blue unicorn.
And now he is gone.

Silvio Rodriguez.

UPDATE- For information on the meaning of the song, please click here. I added the true meaning of the song in another post. Sorry for the inconvenience, and thank you for taking the time to read.🙂

Other posts about Silvio’s music:
Oh Melancolia

10 thoughts on “My Blue Unicorn

  1. You are so right about Silvio Rodriguez – he is amazing. I specially like his song “Melancolia” it takes me through many memories of loved ones that I have lost. Another song that I love is “Ojala” which describes the hate you can feel against someone like a dictator or a Killer.

  2. Took me time to read all the comments, but I really enjoyed the article. It proved to be Very helpful to me and I am sure to all the commenters here! It’s always nice when you can not only be informed, but also entertained!

    – Andre

    • Wow I had never listen to that song. Is beautiful. I think all the songs I’m very familiar with are from 1982 and back. I left the island very little and growing up I would listen to what my parents had on their collection. But thanks for sharing it because I love it.

Leave a Reply

