I Wanna Be Sedated

Ba-ba-bamp-ba ba-ba-ba-bamp-ba I wanna be sedated… So, yeah, I wanna be sedated tonight.

I first heard this song on the show that later on turned out to be my number one, most favorite show ever; I say ever with confidence, because even if a new show comes along, as awesome as this one, it will never be my number one show ever. I hope that makes sense.  So I heard I Wanna Be Sedated by  the band Ramones first on My So Called-life. The year was 1997, and although I felt I could relate to the show and Angela (the protagonist) so well, I later learned it was re-runs from when the show first came out in September, 1994. Imagen, it must have been a damn good show for it to be re-run for so long. It was! It still is, but we’ll leave that for another time. This time I want to share the song, and hope that you enjoy it as much as I do.

Ramones is a punk rock band that formed in the early 70s; to be exact, 1974. It is said, they are the first punk rock band to form. Interesting! The song I Wanna Be Sedated was first released on their fourth album in 1978, and its known as one of their best songs.

I have two videos to show; One is the actual band singing I Wanna Be Sedated and the other one is my dear Jordan Catalano (Jared leto) singing the song in the show, after Rayane (A. J. Langer) suffered from stage fright.

Lyrics:

I Wanna Be Sedated

Twenty-twenty-twenty four hours to go I wanna be sedated
Nothin’ to do and no where to go-o-oh I wanna be sedated
Just get me to the airport put me on a plane
Hurry hurry hurry before I go insane
I can’t control my fingers I can’t control my brain
Oh no no no no no
Twenty-twenty-twenty four hours to go….
Just put me in a wheelchair, get me on a plane
Hurry hurry hurry before I go insane
I can’t control my fingers I can’t control my brain
Oh no no no no no
Twenty-twenty-twenty four hours to go I wanna be sedated
Nothin’ to do and no where to go-o-o I wanna be sedated
Just put me in a wheelchair get me to the show
Hurry hurry hurry before I go loco
I can’t control my fingers I can’t control my toes
Oh no no no no no
Twenty-twenty-twenty four hours to go…
Just put me in a wheelchair…
Ba-ba-bamp-ba ba-ba-ba-bamp-ba I wanna be sedated
Ba-ba-bamp-ba ba-ba-ba-bamp-ba I wanna be sedated
Ba-ba-bamp-ba ba-ba-ba-bamp-ba I wanna be sedated
Ba-ba-bamp-ba ba-ba-ba-bamp-ba I wanna be sedated

I got the lyrics from; http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/ramones/iwannabesedated.html

One thought on “I Wanna Be Sedated

Leave a Reply

